David Coethica's Blog

Demand more good.

Did Apple Hear Me?

with 6 comments


 

Hi folks. It’s been a while. Life got busy without asking first.

More posts and more updates to come soon, and I was trying to get the foundations of the change done before posting again, but I just couldn’t resist, and here’s why, something important is getting ‘Better’…

 

 

For those new to these parts, I’ve had a love hate relationship with Apple as long as I’ve been involved in the world of CSR. Beautiful design and killer marketing has constantly torn at my belief that Apple was one of the most guilty by avoidance in the wider responsible business agenda. I’ve written a few times and one of the most recent (before the barren spell) was just after Tim Cook took the CEO mantle and offered hope to those who desperately dreamed for a new all-star athlete in the CSR team.

Back in February 2012 with ‘Apple’s Ethical Watershed‘ I dared to suggest that Tim Cook would provide an optimistic leadership style borne out of his supply chain background and obviously different personality to his predecessor Steve Jobs, and it’s looking I could have been right.

I’d like to think that maybe, just maybe, this video is further evidence of internal changes of ethos and the continuation of previous signs of a greener leadership and a new brand positioning campaign. iCSR could be on the way!

The fact that Apple is actively talking green could be the start of something big, very big.

 

Written by davidcoethica

April 22, 2014 at 12:13 am

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I think the genesis of this goes back to Steve Jobs’ run-in with Greenpeace back in 2007 (http://www.terrainfirma.co.uk/blog/?p=414) and it seems to have been coming in leaps and bounds ever since. I’ve always been an Apple fan (my first computer was a pre-Mac Apple IIe) so I’m delighted with the shift from laggard to leader.

    Like

  2. It is great to see such an influential company getting sustainability firmly embedded on its agenda. It is just a shame the “ad” is not quite up to its normal power – more of corporate video than an ad. I’m sure the marketing teams at Apple will catch up and start really engaging in the whole conversation and communicating positive actions.

    I like the print ads though, nice sideswipe at Samsung.

    Like

    Dan Vivian

    April 23, 2014 at 11:16 am

    • I totally agree Dan. Whilst the ad and video are good but not Apple on full speed, I’m heartened by their decision to stick their heads above this particular parapet. I think they’ll be struggling internally with understanding they’re not a front runner in this space yet which won’t sit too well with their “we’re the best” brand position. Once these small steps help them the find humility and transparency can generate tangible brand value and trust I’m hoping they ramp up their game.

      For me Apple’s killer sustainability app will be when they find their unique innovation space and market opportunity.

      Like

      davidcoethica

      April 23, 2014 at 11:42 am

      • Now that would be exciting bringing Apple creativity, tech and design to an susty app – I feel a hackathon coming on…

        Like

        Dan Vivian

        April 25, 2014 at 2:17 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 314 other followers

