Most Influential CSR Tweets

It’s a good job my fingers can type because I’m speechless at the moment.

I’ve just paid a visit to wefollow.com and discovered yours truly as the #1 most influential CSR Twitterer and here’s the proof…

wefollow screenshot

I became @davidcoethica and joined Twitter to find like-minded people, share information and learn whatever I could from any source I could find. Despite starting out with highly cynical expectations, as I couldn’t understand what you could possibly achieve with 140 characters, it has been a fantastic personal and professional journey. I never felt  (and still don’t feel) comfortable pushing my own personality in front of the Coethica brand but my good friends at Agent Marketing promised me a good kicking if I didn’t.

To celebrate the new found power I’ve decided to offer three CSR wishes to all those in the Twittersphere that have put me at the top.

Leave your CSR wish as a comment below and next week I’ll pick the best three and wave my newly found wefollow magic wand and make them instantly come true.

To start the ball rolling here’s three from me:

  1. All shareholders start demanding triple bottom line accounting
  2. Marketing people really understand CSR
  3. All CSR conferences can be attended virtually

What’s your wish?

17 thoughts on “Most Influential CSR Tweets

  1. Ian Berry

    Good for you David. Well done.

    My only difference would be that all CSR conferences can’t and shouldn’t be virtual in my view because regardless of how good technology is and will become nothing will ever replace the power of human interaction in the flesh that leads to action in the real world.

    Like

    Reply
    1. davidcoethica Post author

      Hi Ian

      Being very much a people person I agree about the need for offline conferences and real interaction, but the lack of effort in offering any complimentary or alternative online access to conferences is not good enough. It doesn’t take much more additional thought to add access to such events for people who can’t (or don’t want to) travel across the globe or afford the at times discriminatory fees.

      The technology isn’t quite there in my opinion, and I attend a couple of online events per week but as consumers we should be demanding a better service.

      David

      Like

      Reply
  2. petra

    @ian disagree, CSR conferences should be virtual, because then I could follow up on the discussions even though I am sitting here in Berlin and not somewhere in Beijing. And because CSR is mainly a hobby for me the conferences are too expensive for me anyway.I could never afford 300-1000 Euros just for conference fees all by myself.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Fabian Pattberg

    Well done David and so deserved. Your tweets are always worth a read. Thanks for putting in the hard work.

    Just saw that I am number two. That was a surprise.😉

    Have a good weekend.

    Regards,
    Fabian

    Like

    Reply
    1. davidcoethica Post author

      Hi Fabian

      I’d love to know how they measure ‘influence’ but won’t complain about our rankings!

      Let me know when is good for you to catch up by phone next week.

      David

      Like

      Reply
  4. Yvonne

    Congrats David. I agree with your 3 appetizers on CSR. In some cases (not all), Procurement fails to measure in a “quantitative manner” what a company brings to the table in it’s practices and offerings. We need better ways to measure “green” in the procurement process. Buying or being “Green” is very much in the marketing process. Measurement and accountability will help bring and encourage good decisions.

    Like

    Reply
    1. davidcoethica Post author

      Hi Yvonne

      Thanks.

      I’ve been really surprised at the lack of real sustainability understanding in a couple of recent encounters with organisation’s procurement depts. Sometimes as CSR practitioners we forget that there is still a substantial audience out there that in places is well behind those championing the green and CSR agendas.

      David

      Like

      Reply
  5. Brandhabits

    Yes, congratulations. I’m new to your blog, but I think as CSR becomes a more significant pillar of strategy for more and more companies, accountability is key. Do you think initiatives like the Walmart index are a good start?
    I’ve recently posted about CSR at my own blog – would be interested to hear your thoughts.
    Thanks, Andy

    Like

    Reply
    1. davidcoethica Post author

      Hi Andy

      Thanks for taking the time to read the blog and I hope you enjoyed your visit.

      Accountability is absolutely key, and usually incredibly intimidating for senior executives attempting to grasp CSR.

      Walmart is an interesting example and generated much debate both against and in favour. Walmart didn’t have to implement their index, so at the very least it appears that they are setting a great example by using Sustainability as a competitive advantage. Their historical problems with unions and employees does make many question their true committment to the overall concept. If you consider the Index in isolation, it should provide a fantastic opportunity to push sustainability across a huge audience through their supply chain. Let’s see how the Index fares over the first year and begin to evaluate on tangible data.

      I’m off to check out your blog now🙂

      David

      David

      Like

      Reply
  6. Cara

    Congratulations David! Much deserved.🙂

    My CSR wishes:
    – I would like to see more Universities, especially in California (UC and CSU systems), to offer specific undergraduate and graduate degrees in sustainability and CSR and to require CSR specific courses for MBA and undergraduate business degrees.
    – Standardization of core social compliance audit tools by brands and industry advocates
    – Comprehensive training standardization and certification for social compliance auditors (not SA 8000, too limited)

    Like

    Reply
    1. davidcoethica Post author

      Hi Cara

      Thanks🙂

      I like your wishes. I completely agree with your wish for academia and even wrote a recent piece on Justmeans about Business Schools. As for standizatio, your asking a lot, but I’ll use my new found influence and have it all sorted as a Christmas present for you! (not sure what year though😉 )

      David

      Like

      Reply
  7. Lynn from OrganicMania.com

    Congrats on your ranking! What’s great about this is how many people are interested in CSR now. 11,000 is a great start, but wouldn’t it rock the CSR world if you had hundreds of thousands of followers – like the celebrities?

    Re my three wishes:

    1. I wish companies would understand how their desire to “GET CREDIT” for their CSR initiatives can warp their actions. Stop shipping fancy CSR brochures to conferences to show off and “GET CREDIT.” Save the carbon from the shipping! (Yes, PEPSI, this means you, among others!)

    2. I wish more companies and residents in my community would recognize that while in-kind donations are always appreciated, we need cash to keep our local sustainability initiative running.

    3. I agree with you on making conferences virtual as well as physical.

    Thanks and congrats again on all the great work you’re doing!

    Like

    Reply
    1. davidcoethica Post author

      Thanks Lynne.

      I have been astounded at the size and enthusiasm of the audience out there for CSR. It has really caught me and the business off guard a little. I don’t know about me, but a couple of CSR rock stars could do the world of good, literally! I’m all for selling and inspiring CSR rather than preaching.

      I’m a bit behind on the wish granting but I’ll collate all the best soon and as promised make them all come true (my wish).

      David

      Like

      Reply
  8. Mark

    Congrats David! LOve your three, especially the conference idea: I have to fly for upwards of thirteen hours just to get to Europe and the US for a conference.

    My three are bound to the area I live in, South Africa. Use that as background and they’ll start to make sense:

    1. I wish local sustainability agents realised they are in South Africa (where unemployment is 30%, millions are in poverty and millions more parentlless because of HIV, and where getting to school for some is a challenge and for others staying there is more of a challenge) so that their application of CSR is balanced and takes into account local conditions.

    2. I wish marketers and branding and communications people in this country realised they are fundamentally in the third world and adopted more innovative channels and messages to get more people involved.

    3. I wish all my countrymen accepted the importance of being responsible and sustainable and did not regard it as a “white man’s thing” and better yet, that Govt understands that even though we are a developing nation, we must bear responsibility for the environment.

    Pretty serious, huh?

    Like

    Reply
    1. davidcoethica Post author

      Hi Mark

      Conferences really get my goat. Yes I’m very much a people person and conferences with a physical presence have a vital role to play, but EVERY conference should have a virtual component at least. It’s just lazy (or not profitable enough) to not offer a well managed Twitter platform, chat room, webinar, podcasts etc.

      Serious is good. As for #2, asking for innovative marketers that also understand grassroots needs – even with my new CSR omnipotence I’m not sure I can help😉 but I always try!

      David

      Like

      Reply
  9. daniel

    hi david,

    imho followers are not a strong metric for influence.

    can you offer a stronger metric?

    think about it. (hint quantity vs. quality).

    cheers,
    d

    Like

    Reply
    1. davidcoethica Post author

      Hi Daniel

      I completely agree but the metrics aren’t mine and there is another list on wefollow.com of pure follower count – I’ve no idea how the calculate influence and to be honest don’t really care. I’m not out to garner influence, I just feel obliged to share information I fall upon on during my daily travels through CSR, but it was fun to be top of a list, any list!

      David

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

